Recent blog posts

Memphis head coach Tubby Smith may have awarded the scholarship, but anyone who knows Jake McDowell, will tell you that it was his hard work that turned him into a 2016-17 scholarship athlete after joining the Tigers basketball team as a walk-on.

Carlos Diaz, former Jackson State baseball player, signed as a undrafted free agent with the Chicago Cubs organization. The Guaynabo, Puerto Rico native was one of the top performers for the Tigers during the 2016 season.

One of the hottest topics in college football is the use of satellite camps to recruit players in other regions. These camps are said to be used to help high school athletes learn from coaches and get hands-on experience from coaching staffs they normally would be unable to. The camps were even briefly banned by the NCAA before the ban was lifted shortly after. Now some are seeing the benefits that larger schools with bigger budgets have when it comes to these camps.

Some might say that it is just a case of the rich getting richer, but there is no debating that North Carolina knows how to recruit. The Tar Heels have landed another major prospect with point guard Coby White committing to the Tar Heels this week.

The college football season is quickly approaching and while most of the major watch lists have already been announced this preseason, there are still some very big awards revealing who they are keeping an eye on in 2016. Included on the list of big awards is the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award, which now includes Texas Tech defensive lineman Breiden Fehoko.