BYU Preview

More
9 months 1 week ago #385 by wvu4u2
BYU Preview was created by wvu4u2
Editor’s note: This is the ninth installment of a 12-part series previewing West Virginia’s football opponents for the 2023 season.

MORGANTOWN — Kalani Sitake joked that he turned to veteran college quarterback Kedon Slovis for advice before he took the stage at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, for his turn to speak at the Big 12 media days last month.

Slovis had experience in those settings while playing quarterback at the Power Five level in the ACC with Pitt and the Pac-12 with USC, but Sitake was in the position for the first time as BYU’s head coach.

“I just want to take this time in my statement to express my gratitude and appreciation for being here at media days,” Sitake said. “This is a lot of fun.

“Being an independent [college football program], I wasn’t able to experience this as a head coach, so this is my first time. I was actually getting some pointers and some tips from Kedon Slovis. He’s been through more media days than I have.”

BYU is now preparing for its first season in the Big 12 after spending the last dozen years playing as an independent. The Cougars’ schedule includes a Nov. 4 game against West Virginia at Milan Puskar Stadium.

The Cougars have been one of the top programs in the nation playing as an independent. They finished the era with a 99-56 record, and those 99 wins are tied for 15th most in college football during that time frame. They’re coming into the league with Cincinnati, Houston and UCF — newcomers from the AAC.

The 2023 season will be the eighth for Sitake as BYU’s head coach. He’s gone 56-34 overall during that time, including 29-9 over the last three seasons. BYU went 8-5 last fall, beating the only Big 12 team it played — a 26-20 double-overtime win over Baylor — and claiming the New Mexico Bowl with a 24-23 win over SMU.